AQA GCSE Physics (4403)

AQA GCSE Physics (4403)

Physics, like Chemistry and Biology, consists of three units from the Science (B1), Additional Science (B2) and Further Additional Science(B3) courses, along with a controlled assessment (practical). All three written exams have to be taken at the same time at the end of the course.

Link to the AQA exam board’s Physics page. The course specification, practice exam papers and more.

Course content

Unit 1

P1.1 The transfer of energy by heating processes and the factors that affect the rate at which that energy is transferred
P1.2 Energy and efficiency
P1.3 The usefulness of electrical appliances
P1.4 Methods we use to generate electricity
P1.5 The use of waves for communication and to provide evidence that the universe is expanding

Unit 2

P2.1 Forces and their effects
P2.2 The kinetic energy of objects speeding up or slowing down
P2.3 Currents in electrical circuits
P2.4 Using mains electricity safely and the power of electrical appliances
P2.5 What happens when radioactive substances decay, and the uses and dangers of their emissions
P2.6 Nuclear fission and nuclear fusion

Unit 3

P3.1 Medical applications of physics
P3.2 Using physics to make things work
P3.3 Keeping things moving

Unit 4 – Controlled Assessment:

In this unit, candidates use a range of practical skills and knowledge in one investigation chosen from those supplied by AQA.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply